PA Football News Store Scoreboard

Pine-Richland Phil Jurkovec and Jeannette’s Robert Kennedy named 2017 Mr. PA Football Players of the Year

Written by: on Sunday, February 11th, 2018


HARRISBURG – Wayde Marsico announced Saturday night that Pine-Richland’s Quarterback Phil Jurkovec was named Big School Mr. PA Football and Jeannette’s Robert Kennedy named Small School Mr. PA Football.

The Big School honors the top players from Class 4A-6A and Small School honors the players from 1A-3A. The voting process comes from coaches, fans and media, which each counted towards the final vote.

Jurkovec led the Rams to a 16-0 record, winning the 2017 PIAA Class 6A State championship. His team defeated St. Joseph’s Prep 41-21 and won the program’s first state title.

Jurkovec was among six finalists that included Cathedral Prep QB Joe Mischler, Harrisburg DE/RB Micah Parsons, Archbishop Wood RB/CB Nasir Peoples, Cumberland Valley S/WR Charlie Katshir and New Castle S/QB/RB Marcus Hooker.

He joins past Big School winners that include Rushel Shell (2010, 2011), Noah Spence (2012), Andrew Ford (2013), Saquon Barkley (2014), Miles Sanders (2015) and D’Andre Swift (2016).

Phil is one of the nation’s top dual-threat quarterbacks. In 2017, he passed for 3,969 yards on 230 of 310 passes and 39 touchdowns. He also rushed for 1,211 yards and 24 touchdowns.

He played in the Army All-American Bowl in San Antonio and is a Notre Dame commit.

In 2017, Jeannette’s Robert Kennedy played quarterback, wide receiver and defensive back for the Jayhawks. He was one of the most versatile players in Pennsylvania.

His team defeated Homer-Center 42-12 winning the PIAA Class 1A championship.

Kennedy was among six finalists that included Quaker Valley QB/ATH/LB Ricky Guss, Middletown RB Brady Fox, Williams Valley RB/LB Dylan Rabuck, Southern Columbia WR/DB Julian Fleming and Loyalsock LB Hunter Webb.

He joins past Small School winners that include Desimon Green (2010), Tyler Boyd (2011, 2012), DeAndre Scott (2013), Dominick Bragalone (2014), Michael Shuster (2015) and Lamont Wade (2016).

He completed 87 of 152 for 1,462 yards with 25 touchdowns and rushed for 1,356 yards on 182 carries and 29 touchdowns. He caught eight passes for 192 yards and on defense he had 12 touchdowns.

Kennedy is a Lackawanna College commit.

The 2017 lineman award winners were, Class 4A-6A Lineman of the Year Micah Parsons from Harrisburg and Class 1A-3A Lineman of the Year Justin Johnson from Neumann-Goretti.

The Mickey Minnich Legendary Coach Award went to Blackhawk’s Joe Hamilton.

The Keynote Speaker was Rutgers Head Coach Chris Ash.


Follow on Twitter @WPAFootball

Leave a Reply